PRODUCER CONTINUING EDUCATION INFORMATION
WHAT ARE THE CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR PRODUCERS?
All resident licensees are required to have 24 hours of
CE on file with the Division prior to requesting an extension
of an insurance producer license.
|New regulations regarding
All resident producers must complete a 3 hour classroom
Ethics course each renewal period. It must be a stand alone
who sell LTC products are required to attend an approved
one-time 8 hour LTC and 4 hours of ongoing LTC training.
WHAT IS THE TERM OF A LICENSE?
A license is valid for two (2) years from the date it is issued
HOW WILL I KNOW WHEN IT’S TIME TO RENEW MY LICENSE?
The license expiration date is shown on the front of the license.
The Illinois Division of Insurance mails renewal notices approximately
45 days before your license expires. If you do not receive a
renewal notice, contact the Licensing Unit at (217) 782-6366.
HOW CAN I VERIFY MY LICENSE STATUS?
You can access your licensing record by using the Insurance
HOW DO I NOTIFY THE ILL INSURANCE DEPARTMENT OF A NAME/ADDRESS
To change the name on your license, send documentation showing
your new name (i.e. marriage certificate or divorce decree)
and a signed statement to the Illinois Division of Insurance,
Producer Licensing Unit, 320 W. Washington St., Springfield,
IL 62767-0001. A corrected license will be issued.
Illinois law requires you to notify the Division of Insurance
within 30 days of a change of residential address. You may change
your address on-line by using the Producer License/Business
Entity Address Change or by writing to the Producer Licensing
Unit, Illinois Division of Insurance, 320 W. Washington St.,
Springfield, IL 62767-0001.
CAN I REPEAT A CONTINUING ECUATION COURSE WITHIN 3 YEARS?
No. Education credit will not be given to a producer for a repeated
course unless three (3) years have passed since the credit was
last given for the course.
MAY I CARRY OVER CONTINUING EDUCATION HOURS?
Yes. You may accumulate a maximum of 36 credit hours, and you
can carry over 12 hours into your next renewal period. Education
credit hours will be applied in the order the Division receives
IF I FAIL TO COMPETE 24 HOURS OF CONTINUING EDUCATION AND MY
LICENSE IS CANCELLED, WHAT DO I NEED TO DO TO REINSTATE MY LICENSE?
You have a year from your expiration date to complete the thirty
(24) hour continuing education requirement. You are also required
to submit an Insurance Producer Application/Reinstatement form
and $360 fee ($180 licensing fee and $180 penalty fee) at which
time you will be issued a current dated license. If you fail
to reinstate within a year of your license expiration date,
you will be required to complete pre-licensing and re-test.